White FHU Logo
White FHU Logo

As faculty and staff gathered to prepare for the 2023 academic year at Freed-Hardeman University’s annual convocation, FHU President David R. Shannon recognized the contributions of 55 faculty and staff for their landmark years of service.

In his convocation address, Shannon acknowledged his respect and admiration for those who give so much of themselves, both personally and professionally. “What a blessing it is that God continues to provide one of the greatest resources that we have to offer students: our human resources,” Shannon said. “I pray every day that God continues to bring us exactly those we need in our faculty, staff and administration here — those who can lead students on this mission that touches eternity. We have been reminded today how God continually does that.”

Those being recognized for five years of service were: Juanita Alexander, dining services; Larry Arick, estate planning and regional development; Victor Barham, dining services; Jennifer Bell, admissions; James Biggs, admissions; Renee Burton, dining services; Dr. Amy Downey, education; Ashley Estes, education; Aaron Hancock, community engagement; Jose Luis Jimenez Espinosa, dining services; Carolyn Johnson, dining services; Roy Malecha, social work; Hailey Malone, academic support; Clarence McNeal, dining services; Michael McNeal, dining services; Brenda Mitchell, dining services; Curtis Morrison, dining services; Dr. Ashley Prentice, physical therapy; Chris Ramey, alumni engagement; Ruth Simpson, facilities; Maria Santos Solorio, dining services; and Dr. Loren Warf, English.

Those who have completed 10 years of consecutive service are: Dr. Matt Barker, communication; Dr. Matt Cook, biblical studies; Dr. Aarek Farmer, education; Wendy Gean, biology; Randall Harris, church engagement; Dr. Brandon Lanciloti, accounting; Amber Milner, residence life; Geovana Morales, facilities; Sarah Pierce, nursing; and Holly Rowsey, instructional innovation.

Reggie Barham, facilities; Brian Bundren, art; Michael Burton, facilities; Dr. Kenan Casey, computer science; and Ryan Malecha, community engagement, were honored for 15 years of work at FHU.

Dr. Dana Baldwin, behavioral sciences; Jeff Dove, information technology; Dr. Lee Hibbett, marketing; Summer Judd, financial services; Dr. Kevin Moore, biblical studies; and Neil Segars, English, were presented gifts for 20 years.

Additionally, Dr. Karen Cypress, education; Dr. Sharen Cypress, education; Jud Davis, photography; Jill Jackson, education; and Natalie Zlatovich, college of arts and sciences, were celebrated for reaching the 25-year milestone.

Dr. Paul Fader, biology; Karen Hobbs, library; and Dr. Greg Massey, history, were recognized for 30 years of employment, while Dr. Janine Dunlap, communication, and Donna Steele, office of the president, were honored for 35.

Finally, the dedication of both Dr. Milton Sewell, office of the chancellor, and Shirley Eaton, library, were honored for 40 and 45 years of service, respectively.

Dr. Charles Vires, provost, announced each honoree, as Shannon presented them with tokens of appreciation. The audience of peers congratulated the honorees for their years of service with robust applause.

The mission of Freed-Hardeman University is to help students develop their God-given talents for His glory by empowering them with an education that integrates Christian faith, scholarship and service. With locations in Henderson and Memphis, FHU offers associate, bachelor’s, master’s, specialist and doctoral degrees.