White FHU Logo
White FHU Logo
HomeGiveFHU Associates

FHU Associates

Service, Support, Friendship – since 1963

The FHU Associates is a women’s organization whose members know the value of Christian education at Freed-Hardeman University. Members volunteer time and energy to raise money for student scholarships at FHU; more than $4 million dollars has been raised over the last 50+ years! Fun projects and lasting friendships built around a common purpose bind volunteers together.

The Associates organization is composed of chapters in different cities and states. Each chapter hosts their own fundraising events and, for large events on FHU’s campus, multiple chapters come together.

All ladies interested in supporting the work of FHU are invited to join the FHU Associates. Whether you are a career woman, a stay-at-home mom, retired or just joining the work force, in the Associates, you will find a way to use your talents.

new - faculty teaching course


On September 5, 1963, ladies whose husbands were members of the Freed-Hardeman College Board of Trustees and Advisory Board met for the purpose of planning a women’s organization to help support and encourage Christian education at Freed-Hardeman College in Henderson, Tennessee. Mrs. Neal Penny of Milan, Tennessee presided at the meeting and was elected the first president.

In late 1963 and early 1964, chapters of the Freed-Hardeman Associates were organized in west Tennessee and Kentucky, and north Alabama and Mississippi.

National presidents during the Associates first 56 years have been Margaret Penny, Rebecca Woods, Pearl Griffin, Louise Dixon, Hazel Bradfield, Sylvia Harris, Irene Taylor, Lynda Ruff, Delphia Thornton, Martha Alls, Rubye Dodd, Corine Taylor, Fran Davis, Jo Martin, Lora Edwards, Laurel Sewell, Genia Southall, Ann Watson, Diane Smith, Lana Pirtle, Debbie McLaughlin, Sylvia Scott, Jeanita Estes, Carole Childers, and Shirley Eaton.


The FHU Office of University Advancement annually chooses two members of the Associates to receive special awards.

The LaVonne B. Scott “Heart of a Servant” Award is given to an Associate who exemplifies the heart of a servant – who is happy to work at projects (even in the thankless jobs), who is excited about our mission, and who does not ask for recognition, but who deserves to be honored.

The Martha J. Alls “Leap of Faith” Award is given to the Associate who is an innovator, an encourager – an Associate who, perhaps, is responsible for getting a new project off the ground or who came up with a “big new idea” and had the courage to follow it through. This award honors the Associate who says, “We can do that!”

Award Winners

Heart of a Servant – Arlene Brown
Leap of Faith – Sandra Moore

Heart of a Servant – Linda Hale
Leap of Faith – Lorie McCaskill

Heart of a Servant – Sharlene Thompson
Leap of Faith – Nyla Stewart

Heart of a Servant – Jackie Hibbett
Leap of Faith – Debbie McLaughlin

Heart of a Servant – Linda Hale
Leap of Faith – NONE

Heart of a Servant – Doris Maness
Leap of Faith – Martha Alls

Heart of a Servant – Jean Marilyn Hogan
Leap of Faith – Brenda DePriest

Heart of a Servant – Lynne Golson
Leap of Faith – Carole Childers (awarded posthumously)

Heart of a Servant – Joan Rhea
Leap of Faith – Dwina Willis

Heart of a Servant – Diane Smith
Leap of Faith – Connie Pritchard

Heart of a Servant – Clydeen Puryear
Leap of Faith – Debby Gibbs

FHU Associates - Tea Party

Victorian Tea Party

Thank you for joining us for the 2023 Victorian Tea Party.
Photos of the day may be accessed here:

Like us on Facebook to see all our current and fun activities!

Additional Information

LEADERSHIP 2022-2023

National Officers

President: Diane Smith (dsmith@fhu.edu)
Vice-President: Bonny Moore (koala_jeanne@hotmail.com)
Secretary: Robin Hulen (robinhulen@hotmail.com)
Treasurer: Ashley Smith (ashleygallowaysmith@gmail.com)

Other Executive Committee Members

National Projects Chairperson: Connie Pritchard (cpritchard@fhu.edu)
Executive Coordinator: Debbie McLaughlin (dmclaughlin@fhu.edu)
Immediate Past President: Shirley Eaton (seaton@fhu.edu)

Standing National Committee Chairs

Finance/Budget: Ashley Smith
Hardeman House1: Laurel Sewell (lsewell@fhu.edu)
Membership: Lynne Golson (lynne-72@hotmail.com)
Projects: Connie Pritchard (cpritchard@fhu.edu)
Historian: Lieh Brumback (stonepotter@gmail.com)
Nominating: TBA

Fall National Meeting August 20, 2022
   10:30am at the Hardeman House  
Homecoming at FHU November 11-12, 2022
Merry Market at FHU’s Benefit Dinner December 2, 2022
Annual Bible Lectureship at FHU February 5-9, 2023
   Daily Lunches in the Lectureship Kitchen (Aux Gym)  
   Beloved FHBrew Coffeeshop, every day, 7:00am-7:00pm,  
   concession stand in the Sports Center  
   Information and Membership Booth (Main arena)  
Winter National Meeting, 5:00pm, Hall of Fame Room February 6, 2022
Spring National Meeting April 21, 2023
Fiscal Year End (All donations due.) May 31, 2023

For regular updates from the FHU Associates, follow us on Facebook.

2019-2020 Year-End Newsletter

Past Newsletters:

Spring 2013
Winter 2012
Fall 2010
Spring 2010



FHU Associates
158 E. Main Street
Henderson, TN 38340